Become a New Jersey Notary Public

new-jersey State Flag

New Jersey Notary Commission Overview

Notary.net is here to help with any notary bonds, insurance, notary training, or notary supplies you need to become a New Jersey notary public. The step-by-step process for becoming a notary public in the state of New Jersey is detailed below. Once you are ready to shop for supplies, simply visit our store.

 

Importance of New Jersey Notary Training

As a notary public in the State of New Jersey, you have unlimited financial liability on every document you notarize. You do not want to take the office of Notary Public lightly. The New Jersey Online Notary Course is the fastest, easiest and most affordable way for you to learn what to do and how to protect yourself as a notary. Whether you are a new or current notary public, you should spend some time learning the laws.


How to Become a Notary Public in New Jersey

Step-by-Step Instructions

How to Become a New Jersey Notary Public

How to Become a NJ Notary Public Step-by-Step Guide

If you are renewing your active notary commission, you do not have to take the Notary Public Exam. You are only required to submit your Notary Renewal Application.

If it has been over 1 year since your commission expired, you will have to apply as a new notary.

1. Read the NJ Notary Public Manual.

2. Complete the  Notary Commissioning Application. Pay the $30 fee.

3. Take and pass the NJ Notary Public Exam.

4. Complete the Notary Registration Application.

5. Order your NJ notary public stamp and notary journal.

Congratulations! You are now a New Jersey notary public!

Top

Commission Term: 5 years
Minimum Age: 18 years old
Residency: Resident or Employee
Stamp/Seal: Not Required
Journal: Recommended
Application Fee: $30
Eligibility: No major convictions
Other: Be able to read and write English

Address:
NJ Division of Revenue
Business Support Services/Notary Section, PO Box 452
Trenton, NJ 08646

Phone: (609) 292-0642

Who is eligible to become a Notary Public in New Jersey?

A resident of New Jersey; or A resident of an adjoining state that regularly works in New Jersey or maintains an office here. A resident who is 18 years of age or older. A person who has been convicted of a crime under the laws of any state or the United States, for an offense involving dishonesty, or a crime of the first or second degree, may only be appointed by the State Treasurer with approval from the Attorney General of New Jersey.