As a notary public in the State of Minnesota, you have UNLIMITED financial liability on EVERY document you notarize. You do not want to take the office of Notary Public lightly. The Minnesota Online Notary Course is the fastest, easiest and most affordable way for you to learn what to do and how to protect yourself as a notary. Whether you are a new or current notary public, you should spend some time learning the laws. It's less expensive than an attorney consult!

Interactive Minnesota Notary Course Features:

Video Instruction

We use the power of the internet to bring an instructor right into your computer. The instructor will teach and reinforce the materials to help you retain and connect with it. We even provide you detailed instructions on how to obtain your commission! The video can be accessed at any time, from any computer, tablet or phone with internet access. Plus, you can re-watch the videos as many times as you like.

Immediate Access - No Delays!

Because we value your time, upon receipt of your payment, you will IMMEDIATELY be granted with access to your notary course. You can start your Minnesota notary training in just a few minutes!

Instant Access

Social Interaction

Your course includes a social forum to ask questions and receive responses from your instructor and other students in a classroom-style discussion.

Instant Access to Your Proof of Completion Certificate

After completing the course, you will have access to a Proof of Completion Certificate. Display it proudly to show you take your notary commission seriously and that you are well-trained in the laws and procedures of Minnesota notaries public.

How to Become a Notary Public in Minnesota
Step by Step Instructions

    1. Complete the Online Minnesota Notary Training Course (not required)
    2. Submit an application to the state.
    3. The second step is to register your commission with the county you reside in.
    4. As a nonresident notary register your commission at the Minnesota County that borders the county in which you reside
    5. Purchase a stamp
    6. Obtain a journal to record notarial acts (recommended but not required)
    7. Consider if bonds and insurance are necessary by asking your employer or an insurance provider
    8. Familiarize yourself with statutory requirements of Chapters 357, 358 and 359 found at
    9. Register any name or address changes with the Secretary of State within 30 days.
    10. Renew your commission every 5 years and re-register with the county


  1. For the location of county offices go to:
  2. The fee to register and renew with the county is $20 ($20 county recording fee and $120 to state).


Commission Term: 5 years, expires on Jan. 21 of the 5th year following year of issuance.
Minimum Age: 18 years old
Residency: Resident or non-resident in neighboring state's counties that border Minnesota
Stamp/Seal: Inked Stamp
Journal: Recommended
Application Fee: $120
Eligibility: No major convictions
Other: Be able to read and write English

Retirement Systems of MN Building
60 Empire Drive, Suite 100
St. Paul, MN 55103

Phone: (651) 296-2803/1-877-551-6767