Become an Arkansas Notary Public

arkansas State Flag

Arkansas Notary Commission Overview

Notary.net is here to help with any notary bonds, insurance, notary training, or notary supplies you need to become an Arkansas notary public. The step-by-step process for becoming a notary public in the state of Arkansas is detailed below. Once you are ready to shop for supplies, simply visit our store.

 

Importance of Arkansas Notary Training

As a notary public in the State of Arkansas, you have unlimited financial liability on every document you notarize. You do not want to take the office of Notary Public lightly. The Arkansas Online Notary Course is the fastest, easiest and most affordable way for you to learn what to do and how to protect yourself as a notary. Whether you are a new or current notary public, you should spend some time learning the laws.


How to Become a Notary Public in Arkansas

Step-by-Step Instructions

How to Become an Arkansas Notary Public

  1. Complete the Online Arkansas Notary Training Course (not required)
  2. Obtain a $7,500 Surety Bond.
  3. Complete the online Arkansas Notary Application. Upon completion, print the application and mail it with a COPY of your Surety Bond (not the application for the Surety Bond). You must also include a $20 check or money order made payable to Arkansas Secretary of State.
  4. After your application has been received and processed by the Secretary of State's office, they will send to you three (3) Notary Public Certificate/Notary Public Oath forms containing the oath of office and a Commission Identification Number. DO NOT complete the Oath of Office until you take them, along with your ORIGINAL BOND, to the circuit clerk of your county of residence. (Remember, you are commissioned in your county of residence, but you are able to notarize throughout the State of Arkansas.) You must return an original filed Notary Public Certificate/Notary Public Oath form to the Secretary of State’s Business and Commercial Services Division. Make sure you keep one of the original Certificate/Oath forms for your records. The Secretary of State’s office will then issue your notary wallet card.

FILING TIME: You have thirty (30) days from the date of your commission to file your oath with the circuit clerk. Your commission date is issued by the Secretary of State’s office.

Top

Commission Term: 10 years
Minimum Age: 18 years old
Residency: Resident or AR employee residing in bordering state
Stamp/Seal: Required
Journal: Recommended
Bond: $7,500
Application Fee: $20
Eligibility: No felony convictions.
No notary commission revoked in past 10 years
Other: Be able to read and write English

Address:
1401 West Capitol
Ste. 250
Little Rock, AR 72201-1094

Phone: 888-233-0325 or 501-682-3409